Below is a list of rules and regulations that guide operations and activities of small businesses. Use the search bar and category filter on the right to find relevant rules.
Please note this is merely a guide to rules and regulations, and does not represent the full and final requirements pertaining to your specific small business. In addition, the State of New Jersey may have separate requirements for licenses and it is the responsibility of the operator to determine what type of licenses they need to obtain and to secure them before opening an establishment, both with the City of Jersey City and the State of New Jersey.
Click on rule titles to review the full text for items on municode.com city ordinance page (where applicable).
The city-wide ban on single-use plastic carry-out bags starts JUNE 28, 2019. The City of Jersey City Municipal Council passed Ordinance 18-065, which prohibits retailers from providing single-use plastic carry-out bags and non-recyclable paper bags to customers at the checkout counter of all retailers, including grocery stores, restaurants, corner stores, pharmacies, clothing shops, hardware stores, beer and liquor stores, and every other retail store that provides bags to customers at point of sale.
On November 20, 2018, the Municipal Council approved Ordinance 18-133, creating a payroll tax for Jersey City employers. All employers located within Jersey City are subject to a 1% tax on their gross payroll. All tax revenues will support the City of Jersey City public schools.
Businesses are required to register prior to making their first payments. CLICK HERE for the Jersey City Municipal Government page to register and other pertinent information on submitting payroll tax payments, FAQs and contact information.
Employers with a quarterly gross payroll less than $2,500 are exempt from the payroll tax. The wages of Jersey City residents are exempt.
- A license is required by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to serve alcoholic beverages. Visit http://www.nj.gov/lps/abc for more information.
- No licensee shall employ a bartender under the age of 18.
- No licensee shall sell any alcoholic beverage to any person under the age of 21 or that is apparently intoxicated.
- If there is any sale of food, this is considered a food establishment (see food establishment)
- Operator’s license required for all amusement devices.
- No operator may permit the use of any automatic amusement device by person under the age of 18 years not accompanied by parent or legal guardian between the hours of 8:00AM and 4:00PM on school days or between 10:00PM and 8:00AM everyday.
- If there is any sale of food, this is considered a food establishment (see food establishment).
- License required by the State.
- Licensed required by Health & Human Services.
- License is non transferable.
- Hours of Operation- 7:00AM and 9:00PM, seven days a week.
- Licensure of each barber is required by the State. An additional license is required by Health & Human Services.
- A license is required by the State to operate a beauty shop. Visit http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/ for more information.
- The permitted hours of operation for any beauty shop are between 7:00AM and 9:00PM seven days a week.
- Licensure of each barber is required by the State and an additional license is required by Health & Human Services.
Jersey City recently launched a green business certification program to recognize businesses that incorporate sustainable practices. Click this link to fill out an application. Upon approval of certification, businesses will receive a decal to display in their window identifying them as a green business, recognition on the small business website, and the opportunity to present in future green business networking events. If you have any questions, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Place recyclables in containers outside after 7:00PM on the day immediately preceding the day of collection, but no later than 10:00PM.
- Remove empty containers from curbside by no later than 10:00AM next day.
- Restricted to a decibel level of 55 dB from Noon to 10:00PM and 45 dB from 10:00 PM to close.
- Restaurant Entertainment shall not locate within 10 feet of any entrance door or open window.
- Outdoor entertainment is prohibited in all establishments, except where specifically requested in license application and approved by director.